Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

body dysmorphia vs social dysmorphia

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on April 7, 2011

Most trans people I know talk about body dysmorphia, as there core gender discomfort they talk about there body being fundamentally wrong to them, I know that feeling, but it isn’t the dominant feeling I get is social dysmorphia, its not that I hate my chest, lots of the time I can take or leave my chest, unless my body dysmorphia is particularly bad I wont bind at home, I will wonder around in a t-shirt unbothered by my boobs, sometimes I will even wear a low cut top.

What bothers me is what my body means to other people. Several lovers have “proved” my femaleness by grabbing my crotch or my chest, those have been some of the most humiliating times of my life, in one case the person didn’t know, things had moved rather fast and she commented that I didn’t have a cock playfully, but the other two where direct attacks on my identity on the basis of what my body means, my body was taken as truth, my mind was clearly wrong.

I just want to say, if you date trans people, never ever do this, never ever. It’s hurtful and stupid.

Its not sexism that bothers me, it does bother me, I hate hearing women hated and disrespected, but it isn’t just then, its being included positively in female spaces, being asked to talk about what women geeks need, it’s ever she, and her that run nails down the blackboard in my brain. Its the invite to the women’s play party that reminds me that am considered female.

I don’t mind my body, but other people are hell.

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mx. punk said, on June 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    “What bothers me is what my body means to other people.”

    wicked. that’s exactly how i feel. i used to want top surgery and i used to want to get all my reproductive junk ripped out and replaced with, i don’t know, crayons or something. these days, i’m cool with my tits. in fact, i love them.

    i’ve realized that i’m not a genderqueer transperson with a female body, i’m a genderqueer transperson with a genderqueer body.

    this post is rad!


Leave a Reply

