Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

useful thoughts on pronouns

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on March 19, 2011

I was out recently at my friends party, which had a lot of people I didn’t know, she asked if she should be correcting people who where reading me as female, she said.

I’ve seen that look in your eyes when you are trying not to show that you have just been kicked in the guts.

Did I mention she has an amazing way with words, that was just so right, so true it grabbed me. I am, in some respects so fucking nice, so fucking wilting, I let people walk all over me, I am to scared of my monstrous that I wont fucking ask for people to refer to me with something that doesn’t make me flinch. I act like pronouns aren’t a big deal because I don’t want them to be a big deal, but they are, and they not because of what they are, but because of what they symbolise.

“She” is that reminder that everyone else in the world see me differently than I see myself, “She” hurts because it remind me that I am still up for debate. The link is about being queer but there are plenty of invited speakers who claim that trans people don’t exist, or shouldn’t exist.

“She” is all those things, so maybe “She” isn’t being kicked in the stomach, maybe “she” is being hit on a bruise, it wouldn’t hurt a cis person, because they haven’t had been kicked there already.

It doesn’t need to be intentional, one can hug broken ribs with the best of intentions.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nix said, on March 19, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    it wouldn’t hurt a cis person, because they haven’t had been kicked there already

    you have a wonderful way with words, too.

  2. genderqueer2genderqueer said, on March 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

