Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

Actually, I don’t know, and I don’t even know if that question makes sense

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on January 26, 2011

Lots of people, cool people, well meaning people have asked me questions since I stopped T about my gender which I have been unable to answer.

There is a point in a book that I like where a wizard and a non wizard are discussing what a magic box actually is.

“All right, then,” said Moist, “what does it do?”

“We don’t know.”

“How does it work?”

“We don’t know.”

“Where did it come from?”

“We don’t know.”

“Well, that seems to be all,” said Moist sarcastically. “Oh no, one last one: what is it? And let me tell you, I’m agog.”

“That may be the wrong sort of question to ask,” said Ponder, shaking his head. “Technically it appears to be a classic Bag of Holding but with n mouths, where n is the number of items in an eleven-dimensional universe, which are not currently alive, not pink, and can fit in a cubical drawer 14.14 inches on a side, divided by P.”

“What’s P?”

“That may be the wrong sort of question.”

So, what am I getting at is that I am not trying to be obtuse, I promise, I don’t know what my gender is, whether I am trans for whatever particular definition of trans we are working with now, whether I will start T again, or a whole lot of other questions.

So what are thing right sort of questions? I am not sure yet but I suspect, what can I live with, what will maximise my happiness, what will allow me to live a life which is truly “mine” whatever that means, are going to be closer to the mark.

Leave a Reply

