Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

Making genderqueer safe for femmes and male assigned people.

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on April 28, 2010

Their is this idea out this idea that gender queers are all thin White urban and female assigned whose gender has a strong masculine bias this is to put no too fine a point on it bullshit but yet it has persisted and that needs to change. I don’t have all answers, but I hope this space can make the definition of genderqueer and the support for non binary people a little larger, so there is more room for femmes and for male and intersex assigned genderqueers.

It seems ridiculous to me that we, as non binary people have ended up here, when I look at those authors who I read* when I was younger, those who helped me come to terms with my identity, and those within my local community who helped me find my way, the majority of them where male assigned, so the idea that I and people like me have become “the” genderqueers is deeply weird. That doesn’t stop it from hurting people.

I’m not sure what to do about apart from welcoming, apart from trying to keep my ears and mind open, to make a point of noticing and encouraging those who my community can forget and erase.

When building a community we must ask, who is this for, who do we open our arms, our hearts and our homes to, how are they supported in their world.

For me, I like the answer to be everyone, or at least everyone who needs here.

So when I see arguments about how we should consider only the transexual community, not the cross dresses, not the tg butches, not queens, not those bad gender-doing people, just us, I want to scream, and not only because I suspect that I would find that I am not us when it comes down to it.

The identity restrictive trans community isn’t my trans community, if you want me, I will be in the garden and I will be happy to here from whoever need a hand.

*No that I agree with all those authors all the time, but they where all part of my coming to a point where I could call myself genderqueer

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chartreuseflamethrower said, on April 30, 2010 at 3:56 am

    I’ve seen a lot more maab genderqueer who transitioned to female because they had no other option than faab genderqueer. I do see faab genderqueer transitioning to “male”- but it’s usually their choice and they also seem to have more emphasis on doing what makes them happy, while the maabs I’ve seen often ended up in a gatekeeper situation of “either you transition like I want you to or you don’t transition”, and seeing as they needed to transition some they went with it as they had no other optoin. It happens to faabs as well, but it seems less common. I’ve only seen one straightforward MtNeutrois transition, and that’s about it, most of the MtGenderqueer are “MtFtWTF” as someone put it, having to reach female before they can go to something else. Even the person who tried to get “sex not specified” had transitioned to female first.

    And having transitioned “all the way” and having to “backtrack” is a pretty different conversation, and it can make people uncomfortable. Transsexuals (in the “transition/ed” sense) don’t like hearing about “reverse transitioning”- cis people use it as an argument against all transition. The medical community doesn’t like to accept that it’s wrong- so having people point out that their treatment was detrimental doesn’t feel great. And there’s other issues, there always are. Again, all generalizations, exceptions to every rule and all that.

    Not that this justifies it- but the entire thing is a big, gloopy mess.

  2. nix said, on May 1, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    When building a community we must ask, who is this for, who do we open our arms, our hearts and our homes to, how are they supported in their world.

    For me, I like the answer to be everyone, or at least everyone who needs here.

    yes, this.


Leave a Reply

