Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

keywords, not idenities

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on April 26, 2010

Keywords, not labels was linked to by nix’s and all I could think was hell yes.

I said in a earlier post that I a lot of identities, and I think the way  Rebecca put it was about right, it’s not that I have a lot of identities, it’s that I don’t have clear identities, I have a lot of keywords, which fit, at some times, and don’t at others, which have less or more importance to me at the time.

As I said earlier I am a academic, to be specificity I work in the space between mathematics and computer science, some times the papers I read (and hopeful write) are computer science papers, some times they are statistical papers, sometime they are math papers, some items they are all of the above.

This doesn’t bother academics, they are used to papers being complex, being more than one thing, being if I can abuse the terminology, non binary.

Rebecca says she doesn’t think it will catch on, I hope she is wrong.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eccles said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I like. There’s a world of places where people need to be able to tag someone with a description to make communication easier, but don’t need to write-once-categorise them.


Leave a Reply

