Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

Permenent changes

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on March 29, 2010
  1. That I have started using dictation software and I apologise for any mistakes that may be made.

I was talking to a friend recently and they commented that they were scared of the permanent changes that HRT brings. I struggled with this for a long time, and I believe because I placed to much value on permanency I suffered more gender dysphoria than I needed to.

Everything is to some extent perement, people who stretch their ears are fond of saying that the size of no return is 18g (standard earings) because you will always have the scare tissue, your ears will never really be the same. I think the same can be said of medical transition but also not medically transitioning. Male assigned trans people in particular can find that delaying transition has permanent ramification because socially male secondary sexual characteristics are given more weight than female secondary sexual characteristic. However the same is also true of female assigned trans peoplewho may by delaying transition deal with more breast growth as well as legal and social history as women which makes it harder for them to blend into cissexual Society.

If I was to decide de-transition and live is female my situation would be in many ways identical to that of a trans-woman at a risk I’m willing to take the what feels right now and for what has already brought me a decrease in anxiety and other mental illnessespart of the reason why am willing to take this choice is because of the wonderful trans people that I have known who were open and honest about the transitions there fears their hopes and the frustrations.

it is my hope is that people reading this question question the medical model which focuses on the idea of a pure unmodified body as an ideal and sees trans-intesex and other mollified or “abnormally” gendered bodies as less.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

