Genderqueer 2 genderqueer's Blog

suits for butches and trans-men

Posted in Uncategorized by genderqueer2genderqueer on May 10, 2010

So I really liked the offbeat brides guide with one exception, I don’t have $600 to spend on a suit and get it altered if you do great.. Check out the offbeat bride article. If you don’t have the cash, read the article anyway, it’s suit buying tips will still be important for you.

Right, so lets assume like me you don’t have the kind of money to blow that would get you a customised nice suit, and maybe you need a suit, for a job, or a job interview.

So, suits for butches and ft*’s on the cheap.

hit the op shops, hit second hand stores, ask at freecycle check online places like ebay or Craig’s list hit up uncles and freinds for suits that don’t fit them anymore, try to find something about your size.Good quality suits have extra fabric in the seams so that you can take them out, look for pants which have the center back seam (the one sitting over your butt crack) which have a good inch of extra room, this means that you can take them out, which is brilliant for me who will never fit the jacket of pants I fit, or vis versa

When you have suit, and if your anything like me, the pants are tight, and the shoulders are loose (I got booty) so now, you need a hand sewing kit, for me I would want at least a set of pins, some needles, thread and a quick unpicker, a machine will help, but isn’t essential.

Measure yourself up, these instructions are quite good, and work out what changes need me be made. particularly if you haven’t done a lot of sewing before tack everything up, this means, make large easy to remove stitches first just to make sure, to see if everything fits, and don’t cut until you are really sure, remember up till then you can always go back.

Good luck.

Tagged with: , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nix said, on May 11, 2010 at 10:27 am

    huh, thanks for the alterations link. i tend to buy things cheap from opshops and then get them tailored – still costs up to $100 for the tailoring, but i know it’s not going to get screwed up by my pathetic sewing skills.

    p.s. you might want to change the title of this post from “butchers” to “butches”!

  2. genderqueer2genderqueer said, on May 11, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Fixed, dylexia strikes again. (actually that was dragon naturally speaking problem, but dylexia makes it hard to find those things)

    If I had my way, every high school would have a life skills class that taught stuff like this.

    How to modify stuff that doesn’t fit anymore, how to eat well on not much money (spicy beans, good mix veg pasta sauce), how to do push bike matinence, how to fix fuses. I’ve meet people who don’t know how to sew a button back on, and that scares me.

    Anyway, getting off my hobby horse.

    With regards to crap sewing, that is what tacking is for and at least out this side of town it’s not that hard to pick up a suit for < $5 so if I do stuff something up, I haven't lost that much.

  3. estrobutch said, on May 17, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    you tagged a post about butches “faab”. Fuck you too.

  4. genderqueer2genderqueer said, on May 17, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    @estrobutch, Yes their is a definite problem in our community of assuming that trans faab =butch trans maab = femme, and it wasn’t my intention to add to that, however I think this post would be of interest to many faab trans people, so I am going to leave the faab tag their, but add one for butches, as it is also targetted at butches of any history, which wasn’t made clear.

  5. eccles said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    The salvos seem to have the best suits in my limited experience – I’m bigger than average but didn’t really have hassles getting to fit around my guts for the zombie march. (actually, the pants nearly fell off)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

